Home National News Six airports declared no-smoking zones from Feb 3

Six airports declared no-smoking zones from Feb 3


Smoking will not be allowed inside the passenger buildings at all six airports operated by Airports of Thailand Plc (AoT) from Sunday, said acting AoT president Sutheerawat Suwanwat. 

The six airports are Suvarnabhumi, Don Mueang, Phuket, Chiang Mai, Hat Yai and Mae Fah Luang.

Wing Cdr Sutheerawat, who is also managing director of Suvarnabhumi airport, said the designation of no-smoking zones at the six airports is in line with the 2017 Tobacco Control Act and a 2018 Public Health Ministry announcement which requires offices of government agencies and state enterprises, including airports, to declare no-smoking areas to protect non-smokers.

A violator is liable to a fine of up to 5,000 baht.

The AoT therefore abolished all smoking rooms in the offices and passenger buildings at the six airports under its management on Feb 3.

However, the AoT has instructed the six airports to arrange smoking areas outside the passenger buildings. Information on smoking areas can be obtained by calling AoT Contact Centre at 1722.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Exit mobile version